News > POA

Toba shocks champion Asif Back To Main


The News

Syed Khalid Mahmood

KARACHI: Asif Toba shocked top seed Mohammad Asif while seventh seed Vishan Gir and eighth seed Sharjeel Mahmood were laid low by Zahoor Ahmed and Farrukh Usman Brohi, respectively, on the second day of the 4th NBP Ranking Snooker Championship 2012 here at the Defence Authority Creek Club on Tuesday.

The other five seeds, Sultan Mohammad, Mohammad Sajjad, Naveen Perwani, Abdul Sattar and Sohail Shahzad, overpowered their rivals to boost their chances of reaching the pre-quarter-finals with two wins in as many games.

Unseeded Abdul Rauf Kurd earned the distinction of registering the first century break of the competition while second seed Sultam fared even better by chalking up a break of 129 later in the day.

Javed Ansari, on the other hand, compiled breaks of 70 and 88 in a losing cause.

Asif Toba, a promising cueist from Toba Tek Singh, caused the first major upset of the event by blowing the whistle on his namesake, who is also the reigning national champion, having represented the country in Asian Snooker Championship in Doha recently.

Third seed Sajjad, two-times national champion, endured a few anxious moments before defeating Mohammad Akmal 4-2, fourth seed Naveen Perwani overcame the dangerous Mohammad Ishtiaq 4-1, while fifth seed Abdul Sattar blanked Mohammad Bilal in straight frames.

Sixth seed Sohail was extended to seven frames for the second day running. Having edged out Abdul Raziq of Balochistan on the opening day, he had to bring all his expertise into play to outwit Javed Ansari.

Seventh seed Gir jeopardised his chances of reaching the knockout phase of the competition by suffering a second successive defeat. After having lost to Yousuf, a former world champion, the other day, he was stunned by Zahoor Ahmed of Balochistan.

Eighth seed Sharjeel tasted his first defeat of the championship at the hands of Farrukh Usman but Yousuf extended his winning streak by taming Bilawal Agha.

The nine-day championship carries a prize money of Rs174,000.

Results: Hunain Aamir (Punjab) bt Mohammad Javed (Punjab) 4-2; (62-13, 56-78, 18-79, 87-28, 100-17, 63-59); Mohammad Majid (Punjab) bt Abdul Raziq (Bal) 4-0 (65-26, 72-32, 64-37, 62-15); Mohammad Yousuf (Punjab) bt Bilawal Agha (Sindh) 4-2 (71-15, 40-60, 69-7, 64-26, 14-79, 62-34); Abdul Rauf Kurd (Bal) bt Umair Alam (Sindh) 4-3 (9-109, 60-49, 85-6, 37-67, 61-29, 20-66, 78-68); Asif Toba (Punjab) bt Mohammad Asif (Punjab) 4-2 (1-77, 57-43, 37-62, 39-24, 66-31, 82-35); Sultan Mohammad (Sindh) bt Ali Raza (Punjab) 4-1 (36-61, 93-15, 70-1, 129-8, 73-48); Mohammad Sajjad (Punjab) bt Mohammad Akmal (Sindh) 4-2 (48-65, 71-63, 74-48, 89-1, 0-54, 72-41); Naveen Perwani (Sindh) bt Mohammad Ishtiaq (Sindh) 4-1 (83-49, 71-49, 43-71, 71-24, 80-10); Abdul Sattar (Sindh) bt Mohammad Bilal (Punjab) 4-0 (64-7, 78-14, 67-57, 86-4); Sohail Shahzad (Sindh) bt Javed Ansari (Sindh) 4-3 (52-38, 76-49, 26-72, 28-65, 0-89, 96-2, 82-17); Zahoor Ahmed (Bal) bt Vishan Gir (Sindh) 4-3


(60-14, 47-71, 80-52, 39-66, 62-31, 21-74, 52-35); Farrukh Usman Brohi (Sindh) bt Sharjeel Mahmood (KPK) 4-2 (66-29, 82-15, 75-9, 41-71, 54-70, 103-26); Mohammad Afzal (Punjab) bt Zahoor Ahmed (Bal) 4-2 (55-26, 64-22, 45-47, 56-31, 21-56, 50-27); Mohammad Imran (Punjab) bt Javed Ansari (Sindh) 4-1 (56-57, 49-14, 56-47, 87-24, 80-56).